Australia in fabric

ImageThis is my Aussie piece of textile art…work in progress! I’m using my seven travel journals I wrote during our trip around Australia to help create a ‘fabric text’ of the places, memories and moments that were most meaningful. So far, I have started at the ‘red centre’ or Uluru/ Ayers Rock and The Olgas. I’ve made this by stitching together a number of my Clarin’s powder compact pouches (shows how much make-up I’ve got through over the past few years?!)…and have joined these to the backing fabric with a variety of red, stone, and desert coloured buttons. I’m going to use some thick white paint to create Aboriginal-style dot paintings around the base of the ‘rock’, like those found at Uluru…

Leave a Reply

