The Quilt of Friendship

 I am getting married in January 2013 and I celebrated my ‘Hen Do’ in London last weekend. It was a truly wonderful day/ evening organised by my three fabulous bridesmaids, Vicki (holding my champagne in this picture!), George and Alex. It was a ‘Mad Men’ theme http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mad_Men , hence we are all sporting big hair, big eyeliner and 1950/1960s style dresses! I was taken to meet all my girl friends at Homemade, London http://www.homemadelondon.com/ where we drank champagne and made pretty things with buttons and fabric! Next stop was Archer Street, http://archerstreet.co.uk/ a great cocktail bar in Soho…where my lovely ladies presented me with this…the quilt of friendship. Each of my friends had made a square based on our friendship together, memories and stories. They had used fabric, beads, photographs, buttons and fabric pens. Sue, my bridesmaid Georges’ mother had then put the squares together to make this quilt – here I am holding it on my lap, looking marginally overwhelmed! It really is a work of art…and love. It’s beautiful and I cried…a lot…although they were of course happy tears! I will treasure it always…and I just had to share it here…

Thanks and love goes to my ‘hens’: George, Vicki, Alex, Fi, Emma, Charlotte, Row, Sophie, Sam, Carolyn, Catherine, Jess, Jenny, Jennie, Olivia, Nina…my mum, my mother-in-law to be…and Sue! x

2 thoughts on “The Quilt of Friendship

Leave a Reply

